Councils and Committees

Policy Steering Committee

The Policy Steering Committee works with HSSC’s CEO to give guidance on potential initiatives as well as to help identify and set strategic directions. Each HSSC director is entitled to appoint one member to the Policy Steering Committee.


Greg Mappin, MD, MBA, FACS
Vice President of Medical Affairs


James Bearden, MD, FACP
Vice President of Clinical Research

Prakash Nagarkatti, PhD
Vice President of Research

Meera Narasimhan, MD
Professor of Clinical Neuropsychiatry, School of Medicine

Jim Raymond, MD
Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer

Windsor Westbrook Sherrill, PhD, MHA, MBA
Associate Vice President for Health Research and Chief Science Officer

Mark Sothmann, PhD

Mike Tillirson, DO
Executive Vice President and Chief Medical Officer

Interim Members

Brent Egan, MD
Senior Medical Director of Care Coordination Institute
Professor of Medicine


Penny Bellesen
Executive Assistant to the President & Chief Executive Officer